Who breaks the stone? | 15 February 2013

Popa’s “Give Me Back My Rags” feels like my Rhetoric poems. The harsh voice. I like these poems a lot more than the first ones in the book. They remind me of Jeffrey McDaniel’s voice.

I want to take the you and shove it inside of me. It’s my you at times, the way I want to hate it, the need to, just to not be indifferent, just to keep “him” here. If I could throw you across the room, would you land in the mirror and look back at me? Who breaks the stone that skips across the lake?

Leave a Reply

