The Year I Wrote Only Poems

20130729-080222.jpg2007. Much of this year, in this journal, full of poems. Entries that make no sense — sometimes not even to me. An image sparks a moment of creativity and words unfold.

Some of these poems I revised/edited and versions of them ended up in my thesis. Looking back, I wish I had spent more time with some of them (especially the entries on 3/29, 4/8, 4/12. and 4/30); I love the rawness of these poems, unedited and in-the-moment. They say so much without saying anything, my obsessions at the time, trying to write a book of cohesive poems: birds, eyes, different types of flowers.

I feel like these poem entries are boring my readers of this blog, but they reflect my world at the time. My day-to-day life, newly married, as a student and teacher, did not inspire me much then. I was reading poets like Popa, Celan, and Ritsos, and they took me to dream worlds in which everyday objects became the subjects of my poems in strange ways.

As always, thanks for reading and sticking with me

Leave a Reply

