I wish for you thinking | 29 March 2007

I wish for you thinking,
I think of you wishing
where the tables turn where
will the placemat go? I
need to set my fork somewhere.
I watch, no, I listen. There
are snores, cars from the highway
in the distance, a motorcycle perhaps,
the whole night of it, engulfed
like, like your mouth
swallowing the only light.
Who watches? The second-hand
breaks through where I want to be,
numbers, 9, 3, across the circle
from one another. Who is ready
to stare at me like the 3
stares at 9. Play the game.

One thought on “I wish for you thinking | 29 March 2007

  1. Evelyn, Wonderful images of time and space, rolled up and served with a relish of the ordinary! We place the fork in our mouths as needed, of course! Wish I had time to explore your blog more.

Leave a Reply

