17 September 2007

IMG_0656In the backyard, I watched you rake leaves, red leaves in piles for us to jump in. No, I’ve never watched you rake leaves and that’s what I wish for. A fall day with the smell of Halloween on our breaths, piles of red leaves, a backyard another backyard, that place to call ours. But we never made it there. You hurt over the past and who I used to be. You let the parallel lines we spoke of veer off the road. I wish for all of this sometimes. Somewhere in the city you, always you.

 

Leave a Reply

