13 October 2007

October twelfth came and went. Didn’t even realize it was actually that day until I was sitting in the doctor’s office waiting for a mammogram. I found a lump under my armpit this week. Turns out it’s a noncancerous cyst. Nothing to worry about, but they think I should get it checked again in 3 months.
We leave for Europe on Thursday. I feel like I have so much to do before then.
Write a poem using the word lung.
Maybe fill the lungs with stones.
Lungfish — title.
Work through it.
If I watered your garden
Would the lungfish come?
Would you rip open
your chest to expose your
lungs, two sacs pumping
the air I want to breathe.
There the snapdragons
are in full bloom. Cut
their stems. Make me bloom.

 

Leave a Reply

