30 December 2007

En Route Austin —

Another holiday season behind us. On my way back from Chicago. Was in Mily for 3 days. Saw Mary, Flo, Kath & Katie & cousin Ann. Josie told us she’s pregnant. This time next year, I’ll be an aunt. Thinking of moving back to Chicago in 6 months is both exciting and scary. Where will we live? What job will Mike find? How will like in Chicago help/hurt our marriage? Kids?

Things are changing. People are having babies, miscarriages, getting married, moving. All the extreme indulgence of our 20s is dying down. We didn’t even make it to Lange’s the Chicago trip. I wonder where everyone will be in 10 years.

I’m ready for change again. The past 6 months in TX have been pretty indulgent too. Moving back to Chicago, I should escape some of that craziness that began in Cork this summer.

What I want in 2008: To lose 10 lbs, to publish more, to start PhD work, to go off the pill, to buy a house, to find a way to keep writing poems when this degree is over, to appreciate TX in my last 6 months there, to fall in love with Mike all over again, to eat healthier, to work on my novel/memoir, to watch less TV, to walk Belle more and find more ways to workout again, to travel (it maybe awhile before we can after this year), to try to keep my house more clean, to read more Camus, to drink less, to be a better teacher [at my hs] than when I left.

Leave a Reply

